top of page

Book Review : Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Description:

"In what may be Dickens's best novel, humble, orphaned Pip is apprenticed to the dirty work of the forge but dares to dream of becoming a gentleman — and one day, under sudden and enigmatic circumstances, he finds himself in possession of "great expectations." In this gripping tale of crime and guilt, revenge and reward, the compelling characters include Magwitch, the fearful and fearsome convict; Estella, whose beauty is excelled only by her haughtiness; and the embittered Miss Havisham, an eccentric jilted bride." 

Notable quote:

"Suffering has been stronger than all other teaching, and has taught me to understand what your heart used to be. I have been bent and broken, but - I hope - into a better shape." 

Goodreads Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ from ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ from ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ My Review:

Social conflicts are always been Dickens's style. Despite on the conflict of Pip's eternal love towards Estella, he was struggling to find his true identity and trying to make a better life. Born as an orphan in poverty, Pip's life story truly make me touched. He's a good boy trying to be a better man, surrounded by cruel men and cruel world. Well, I had a sentiment to Estella because she's such a snob. But overall they're pretty cute together. Personally I'd still prefer Oliver Twist and David Copperfield, but Great Expectations is worth to read! 

bottom of page